top of page
Search

@bulimiafree

Yes my body’s a little bit bigger

Those shorts don’t do up

I sigh at my figure


But it’s not only softness

my frame has now gained

It’s room for compassion,

love less restrained


Space for my thoughts

to think more of others,

A chance for experience

not centred on numbers,


So when I sigh,

that the shorts don’t do up

I gently say Laila -

“who gives a fuck?”


Why do these shorts,

inanimate object

Get to make me focus

on this time wasting subject?

And plot how I’ll quickly

shrink my dear body

When really I know,

most lethal hobby


I know who I am

and I must value that

Coz when I do,

I quite like my fat


It’s part of me

It’s loved and needed

Screw diet culture

and the lies that its weaved in


So Yes my body’s a little bit bigger

The pressure to not be,

may always linger

But I turn my disappointment

away from my self

Start asking Laila,

what might actually help?

No crash diet, no harshness,

what helps is compassion,

Find you true voice

Thoughts & feelings, express them


Keep arming yourself

with facts about diets

The companies that profit

the more that your crying


Look at more bodies

of all shapes and sizes

Challenge fat phobia,

make yourself wiser


Throw out those shorts,

they were a trigger

Overcome these, move on,

keep making life bigger 💗

@bulimiafree on instagram

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bulimia @trujetty

My eating disorder was a blessing. Yes, you read that right. The experience of Bulimia, combined with some anorexia, has made me a leader now. A voice for women with eating disorders. My voice to help

bottom of page