top of page
Search

Learning to Live Without Numbers @recovery_daughter

How much do you weigh? How many calories do you eat? How high are your grades? How much money do you earn? How many likes on your Instagram post?


These are the questions we so often ask ourselves to measure our worth. These are the wrong questions.


Think about a good friend. Do you like them because they have a small waist? Spend an hour in the gym? Have a successful career? Or do you like them because they have a lovely personality, are fun to be around and make you happy?

It’s time to start treating ourselves like friends and learn to let go of the numbers we believe to define us.


Try introducing yourself to yourself without mentioning numbers. For instance, hi, I’m Alice, I’m a daughter, sister, friend, mental health advocate, psychology student. I like art, literature, supporting other people and trying to be inspiring. I’m learning that my own mental illnesses don’t define me and I’m starting to love life.


Your turn.


It might feel strange leaving high regard of numbers behind, but I’m confident it will leave you happier, stronger and with a richer personality. After all, no one is going to say at your funeral “she weighed ___, ate ___ calories, achieved grades of ___, earned £___, and averaged with ___ likes on Instagram.”

@recovery_daughter on instagram


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bulimia @trujetty

My eating disorder was a blessing. Yes, you read that right. The experience of Bulimia, combined with some anorexia, has made me a leader now. A voice for women with eating disorders. My voice to help

bottom of page