top of page
Search

So Much Healing Still To Do @southernsmash

I always thought that being “recovered” was the end goal - that was the magical point where all the work ended. That place where everything was picture perfect. I’ve recently learned though that you can be solidly in recovery, or even fully recovered, and still have healing to do. Treatment teaches us how to nourish ourselves, how to cope with difficult emotions, and how to heal our relationships with food and our bodies. I thought that’s where the healing would end, but it turns out, I’m still healing. Healing from relationships that are no longer a part of my life. Healing from expectations about where my career “should” be by now. Healing from hurts that I still carry around with me. Healing from having my identity wrapped up in my body for far too long. I’m learning it’s okay to ask for help. And that yes, It’s okay to not be okay sometimes. You can be whole and broken. You can be strong and still seek help. But most importantly, you can be recovered, and still have healing left to do.

Written By: Amy Sullivan, SMASH Coordinator

@southernsmash on instagram

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bulimia @trujetty

My eating disorder was a blessing. Yes, you read that right. The experience of Bulimia, combined with some anorexia, has made me a leader now. A voice for women with eating disorders. My voice to help

bottom of page